Mungo Jerry – Electronically Tested (Red Vinyl)

Artist: Mungo Jerry
Format: Vinyl
Bar-code: 5060209950679
Cat No: 7A067LP

7A Records are proud to present our deluxe reissue of Mungo Jerry’s Electronically Tested. Released on July 19th, the album has been remastered and expanded with four bonus tracks and features extensive liner notes including Ray Dorset’s own recollections.

Electronically Tested, Mungo Jerry’s second album, was first released in March 1971. Even the title clued in listeners that this was no ordinary record. As Ray Dorset reveals, “I came up with the name of the album. Durex used to have ‘electronically tested’ written on their packets. I thought that was quite the talking point, if people in the know said, ‘That’s the same name as on the packet of condoms!’ It was taboo to mention stuff like that.” Electronically Tested offered hints of the familiar via its inclusion of the UK #1 Hits “In the Summertime” and “Baby Jump,” but elsewhere, the album was pure, eclectic Mungo Jerry. Every side of Dorset’s talents as a singer, songwriter, and musician came to the fore on Electronically Tested, with his bandmates John Godfrey, Paul King, and Colin Earl–as well as producer Murray– joining him to create a joyful noise: “It’s got a lot of tracks that could have been singles in their own right. It was good for me to be able to play all that kind of stuff”. Mungo Jerry’s singular sound has been described as rock, folk, blues, country, good-time music, jug band music, pub rock, and gypsy rock–and that’s just a partial list. One can hear all of those elements in the disparate, timeless songs that form Electronically Tested. How would Mungo himself describe it? “It’s kind of rocky stuff. It’s got social commentary. It’s got all sorts of influences in there. It’s really best to say it’s Mungo Jerry music.” Electronically Tested originally peaked at # 14 on the U.K. Albums Chart the week of April 14, 1971.

US Customers


UK Customers


SKU: 7A067LP
Categories: , , , ,

Side One

1. She Rowed
2. I Just Wanna Make Love To You
3. In The Summertime
4. Somebody Stole My Wife
5. Baby Jump
6. Follow Me Down

Side Two

1. Memoirs Of A Stockbroker
2. You Better Leave That Whisky Alone
3. Coming Back To You When The Time Comes

Bonus Tracks:
4. Lady Rose (Single Version)
5. Have A Whiff On Me
6. Little Louis
7. The Man Behind The Piano

• Remastered With 4 Bonus Tracks
• 180g Red Vinyl
• Extensive Liner Notes, Gatefold Sleeve