Michael Nesmith – Tantamount To Treason, Vol. 1 (50th Anniversary Ed.)

Artist: Michael Nesmith
Format: CD
Bar-code: 5060209950396
Cat No: 7A039

7a Records is proud to announce the 50th Anniversary Edition of “Tantamount To Treason, Volume One” by Michael Nesmith & The Second National Band. The 1972 album has been remastered, expanded with bonus tracks and given a brand new cover painting by Wilson McLean, who also painted the original album sleeve. The CD comes with a 32 page booklet, including extensive liner notes, previously unpublished photos and lyrics to all of the songs.

The Album
By late 1971, Michael Nesmith found himself confronted with dissenting opinions of his First National Band releases on RCA Records. Though critics generally lauded the music, radio audiences and the record buying public became less interested in the material with each subsequent release. Contemplating his next move under his RCA contract, Nesmith made some significant changes to his approach in recording new material, which would ultimately yield Tantamount to Treason, Volume One. Gone would be a supporting “band” in the sense of a collective partnership of musicians. Rather, an eclectic group of session musicians would be gathered to lay down what were arguably Nesmith’s most free-form, jazz-influenced and psychedelic country tracks of his career.

US Customers


UK Customers


For all other countries, please check out Amazon worldwide

SKU: 7A039
Categories: , ,

1. Mama Rocker
2. Lazy Lady
3. You Are My One
4. In The Afternoon
5. Highway 99 With Melange
6. Wax Minute
7. Bonaparte’s Retreat
8. Talking To The Wall
9. She Thinks I Still Care

Bonus Tracks:

10. Six Days On The Road
11. Circle Sky
12. Listen To The Band (Alt. Ver.)
13. Tan My Hide (Instrumental)
14. You Are My One (Instr. CD Only Bonus Track)